#ThankfulThursday

My friend recently posted a picture of a couple of lids. She’d gone through her cabinets, couldn’t find the matching pans, and posted them on her Facebook page as free for the taking. I’m sure most people would have just kept scrolling, but I paused, as it brought me to a memory that originated almost 5 years ago.

It was an incredibly rough time period, for me. I was a 6 month pregnant, single mom who had to say temporary good byes to my eldest, raise a toddler in an unsafe and non toddler proofed home, and care for my bed ridden grandmother who I’d just come to find out, had undocumented dementia. I made horrible decisions that left me poverty stricken, surviving on food stamps and what I could pack into my car at the time. I’d been emotionally and financially abused, and I was an over all hot mess.

I put out an SOS on Facebook asking for pots and pans, so that I could actually cook for my toddler and grandma. My “friend” Jennifer and her husband stepped up to this random request. They lived close to an hour away. They made a very out of the way pit stop to me during their journey back from another destination. I could now cook and feed my family more than sandwiches and junk food.

The word friend was in quotations, because to be completely honest, we were mere acquaintances. 8 years ago, I used to be a teachers aid where her children attended daycare. Somehow, we ended up as Facebook friends, and we’ve managed to keep in touch via the digital route. 4+ years ago, she showed up on my grandmother’s doorstep bearing gifts I still use to this very day. Almost every time I use my pot or pan, I smile at the generosity and kindness an almost stranger graced me with.

This Thursday, I’m grateful for the woman I’m still slowly coming to know. She has an abundance of stuff. I’d recommend getting to know her. šŸ˜†

One thought on “#ThankfulThursday

  1. Miranda, you are one of the toughest, kindest, most loving women I know. You are also an amazing mother. You are one of my role models and I’m thankful that I have you in my life.

Leave a comment